Carlijn Kerdijk

August 17, 2018

You are Dutch, work for a cycling organisation and you ride your bike every day?’ – Yes, that is me!

 

I rode a bike for the first time without training wheels when I was four years old, the summer before I went to primary school. I remember it was at the campsite and I was so happy, that after a few meter I rode straight into a hedge! From then on, you could find me riding around my hometown Delft on two wheels.

 

 

 

 

Riding a bike was something I did to get from A to B, I definitely didn’t consider it exercise or classified it as sport. My choice of sport was field hockey, which I started playing at the age of seven. The local hockey club was my second home and family - training three times a week, playing on the Sunday, coaching junior athletes, organising the youth festivities and pouring beers behind the bar as part of the ‘Bierteam’.

 

 

 

 

Hockey was my life and the reason I ended up chasing a degree in Human Movement Sciences / Sport Psychology. After finishing my Bachelor’s degree in 2012, I went on to study in Lund, Sweden. From then, I kind of never moved back to Holland - sorry mum!

I moved to Melbourne in September 2013 to finish off my Master’s degree with a research at Victoria University. Why Australia? My dad has a sister and brother who moved to Sydney more than 40 years ago. In 2001, 2005, 2008 and 2011 I had visited Australia for holidays with my parents, younger brother, sister and loved it!

 

The first thing I asked my aunt when I got to Australia was whether I could borrow her bike to take to Melbourne. She replied: ‘You do know cycling here is not like cycling in Holland?’. I just said ‘Surely it is not that different…’. Can now say I was pretty naive back then! Riding in Melbourne was so different - barely any bike lanes, hills and weird hook turns. But I managed to ride almost everywhere, saved a lot of money by not taking the tram for every single trip and by the time I finished my thesis I knew my way around Melbourne.

 

 

My planned nine months stay in Australia turned into a full year. After my research in Melbourne I travelled the country and did 89 days of regional farm work, picking kiwifruits in the highlands of Victoria. After a few months back in Delft to earn money and pack up my things, I moved to Sydney in January 2015. Soon after I started an internship with Bicycle NSW, which definitely sparked my passion for cycling. I kept telling anyone who wanted to hear: ‘Look it up on Google Maps, I swear you will be faster on a bicycle than by car or public transport!’ From an intern position, I rolled into a part-time and then full-time, sponsored role as an event manager for Spring Cycle and Gear Up Girl.

 

 

In Australia I had slowly picked up running, but an injury in late 2015 caused me to mix it up. I started swimming and, for the first time ever, riding a bike for a non-commuting purpose. The injury went away, but I had caught the triathlon bug and signed up for my first sprint race. After completing this one on a borrowed bicycle, I realised I needed a bike the right size. I walked into Park Bikes during a lunch break at work and a couple weeks later, at the end of January 2016, I walked out with a road bike. I named it Carel (Dutch version of Karl), as this was my nickname back in Delft because my friends considered me to be a bit of a tomboy.

 

 

For some crazy reason, in May 2016, I decided to sign up for L’Etape - this was before I had even completed my 100km ride!!! Looking back, I really think I had no clue what I was getting myself into or how much training I should be doing for this. However, training for L’Etape turned out to be the best thing ever! By race day I was definitely not ready to tackle this, but through training rides I had created this amazing group of friends around me; pacers from my runclub that were now riding bicycles, girls I met through the Rapha Women’s 100 ride, a group of Instagram famous triathletes and the Park Bikes / Parklife green army!

 

 

After L’Etape I didn’t really think about triathlons anymore, it was replaced with thoughts of racing crits. Thanks to some encouragement from my new gained friends I started racing and haven’t really looked back since! Hilly long rides are still on the program every now and then, but hill anxiety is a real thing! I rather avoid them if possible and race around a crit track instead. Triathlons are also not completely off the menu yet, as I have one thing on my bucket list: a half Ironman! Hopefully I will finally get to tick that one off at the end of 2018.

 

This #DutchieinSydney cannot be happier to be part of the green army. Leaving behind friends on the other side of the world, only to find a whole new group in Australia is an amazing feeling. Big thumbs up for a special group of friends - the Jungle Girls! Finding this many girls in a man dominated world, is something I am not taking lightly. Getting to ride with or race against only girls, it is just something special. Big shout out to the two original Jungle Girls that have been a major part of getting more women on the bikes. Be proud!

 

So whether I ride around Sydney on my old, red, rusty commuter or Carel on a race track, every time I am riding I proudly advocate to get or more women on a bike. I stopped comparing the Dutch cycling to the Australian way, because it is never going to be like back home. But here is to hoping that one day, we have a 50/50 split of women and men riding and that we all can respect every type of road user. Because in the end; smile today, be happy tomorrow!

 

Carlijn

 

 

 

Please reload

Recent Posts

June 5, 2019

December 16, 2018

Please reload

Archive

Please reload

Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

(02) 8073 4777

Sydney Olympic Park NSW 2127, Australia

© 2018 Parklife Cycling Club